Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that education up to tertiary level should be free of cost and should be borne by the government. While this seems to be a great idea to help educate all children, free education will also have a major impact on the government budget. In my opinion, school education should be paid partly by the government and part payment should be done by parents.

free education has, no doubt, a wide range of benefits for the children and parents. It ensures that everyone receives the same quality of education, irrespective of race, religion, status or standard. Secondly, parents, who are below poverty line, struggling to make ends meet, will benefit from such a scheme. When everyone is educated, there will be less unemployed people and this will in turn raise the standard of living of the people.

However, free education will be a major drawback for the government in terms of finance. Instead of investing in national problems such as poverty eradication and saving the environment from pollution, a major part of the budget will be spent on education. Furthermore, this will make parents laid back and encourage them to fall prey to drug abuse, alcohol etc. Moreover, taxes will increase and the burden of education will fall on the general public. For instance, Bachelors or single occupants will have to pay excess tax without reaping any benefits for the same.

In my opinion, the responsibility of education should be borne equally by the parents and government. In this way, parents will be motivated to work hard and the government would be able to help in educating the young generation without neglecting the national responsibilities.