Education for young people is important in many countries . However, the others think government should spend more money for education in adult population who can not read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people have different viewpoints about the governmental investment on general education. In my opinion, while it is suggested that the spendings should be centered on cultivating the youth, enlightening the adult population is still worth an issue of concern.

First of all, there are many conducive reasons why the government should focus on extending youth education. When equipped with profound knowledge, young people are given a tool to take control of their lives and can be freely pursue what they excel at, which will eventually become a national benefit. For instance, if a child is endowed with football skill in his formative years, he needs special training courses and scholarships to nurture his ability. As the mentioned child has received enough training skills, he will become a professional footballer and achieve many medals for his home country. Besides academic knowledge, all youngsters should be bequeathed with instilled ethics lessons, since they are the most sensitive and are easily exposed to law-offending behaviour. Evidence suggests that in many remote areas of Vietnam, students who cannot gain access to primal education are likely to commit vicious crime like drug-trafficking, robbery or even homicide. Today’s youth is tomorrow’s future, so there is no denying that the government should invest a great amount of money on this school-aged group.

However, as the world is increasingly globally connected, education and knowledge should be made available for everyone, regardless of their age or social standard. By helping older generation to read and write fluently, political leaders have directly reduced the national illiteracy rate/incidents, making the country more advanced and investible to international companies. Moreover, when provided with general knowledge, older generations the middle-aged will play a more active role in assisting schools to educate their children. Take Eastern nations like China, Japan, Korea or Vietnam as examples, schools and families have a strong connection and an equal role in teaching a kid, representing proved by annual parent conference held in every semester. Another point worthy of concern is that in many parts of the world, elders have strong influences over their offsprings. Were it not for the ability to write and read, middle-aged people would not be able to approach source of reference related to civic; therefore they can not curb their children’s unlawful behaviour at their early stages. So as a fact, it is of fundamental importance that the older generations in families are well-educated.

From what has been discussed, while I believe youth education has many redeeming features, spreading general knowledge to older generation should not be trivialized. As long as there is a yearning for education, it is the government’s responsibility to assist them under no circumstances.