The efficient functioning of society is based on rules and laws. Society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that unlimited freedom of citizens would impair our society so that we should come up with rules and laws in our daily life. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea.

Rules and laws provide us with protection so that our rights and safety can get a guarantee. For instance, businessmen should obey specific rules while transferring goods and be honest so that each other can achieve the same goal. Besides, rules and laws make sure that people’s behaviours are not beyond the red line, in this way, the stability of society can be maintained. People who try to overstep the boundary will get punishment and even be put into jails. Rules and laws can also make us behave in manner on many occasions, as the ancient Chinese master Confucius said, one man must treat his master as his master and treat his father as his father.

Rules and laws can also protect the disadvantaged groups, such as the disabled, the young, women, and the old. They are often the ones who be offended and be hurt by others, rules and laws are scherms for these citizens so they can live more comfortably. Rules and laws also guaranteed fairness between power people and others, for example, people pay tax to the government depend on their incomes, richer people pay more so that the gap between different hierarchies can be reduced to some extent. In this way, the government can perfect public insurances and make society run better.

In conclusion, I am for that rules and laws are necessary for our life for sure.