Email and text messaging have transformed communication but they are seriously threatening the status of written language. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the last decade, Technology has introduced various ways of communication such as messaging and e-mails. While there are certain benefits of using these methods with respect to time and cost, I partly agree with the notion that these modes of interaction are threatening the status of written language in terms of understanding.

To begin with, the advance communication methods comes with unquestionable benefits in terms of speed and tariffs. Put differently, new ways have decreased the expenses and time for communicating locally and globally. For example, in earlier days, people use to write and send hand written notes, such as letters and telegrams, to their loved ones, which takes months to reach the destination. Moreover, telegrams were charged based on the number of words written in the note because those days, it was the faster mode than the letter, to deliver emergency messages using Morse codes. These hurdles are now overcome with the concept of text messages and electronic emails, as one can now communicate in minuscule of time and money.

On the contrary, these advanced techniques have threatened the written language in terms of its lucidity. Communicators have now started using the slang and abbreviated forms of sentences in emails and messages, which are hardly known to majority of people. Furthermore, invention of emoticons has also eliminated the requirement of expressing their sentiments linguistically. Other than this, the auto-correction facilities available while typing the messages and e-mails have made the writer unaware of usage of words, its meaning and its spellings. Grammerly, for instance, is a tool which highlights and corrects the spelling and grammatical errors, making the writer less conscious about the writing.

To sum up, new ways of communication have made easy for everyone to be in touch all the times with their loved one at very low costs. But, it has brought a certain set of threats to the written language with the introduction of new slang, graphic emoticons and auto-correction tools.