Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society.Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Mannerism is the first thing comes to mind when talking about children. Some people argues that parents should be responsible for their children’s societal skills, while others consider schools for this purpose. Although, parents are the first teachers of their children, I am of the opinion that schools are the best place to learn social etiquette.

To begin with, those who believe parents should develop their children’s social behavior have their reasons. Starting from birth, children spend time with their parents and therefore, they start following their footsteps. They tends to believe their parents actions as always correct. Therefore, it is duty of matured ones to teach adolescents the policy of “we reap what we sow” by explaining them about social services such as donations or charity. Other than that, children are considered to be the reflection of their ancestors. Put differently, little ones will attain how their parents are behaving at home, within the family and society. If parents maintains peace at homes, it will nurture their children also to possess calmness and patience in their behavior.

Despite of above factors, however I strongly believe schools are the best place to teach young ones how to blend in the society positively. Teachers not only develop the intellectual skills of a child, but also the interpersonal skills by making them interact with other children in classrooms. This helps them in understanding about different cultures and communities, thus avoiding the discrimination. Consequently, this will make them more friendly, sharing and caring minds. Moreover, schools also teach them the most important ethic and that is punctuality. In other words, schools run over the clock in a day and this practice make children learn the importance of time in life, because wasting someone’s time is considered as disrespectful in the society.

To sum up, although parents teach children to take first steps towards the societal manners, I believe schools play an extra hand in nurturing the overall development of children in terms of discipline and values.