Emails due to being convenient and quick have progressively taken over the written letters. Whilst I believe that email is the preferred method of communication; however, letters will continue to be used as an official way to convey information. This essay will discuss why the letters will not be omitted from the official communication.

Emails are considered to be an effective and quick medium to communicate. This is simply because email is delivered through electronic medium and almost instantly to the mailbox of the receiver, resulting in swift communication. Take, for instance, most of the corporate offices, due to the need for rapid information relay, use emails to communicate among the office staff. In addition, emails are stored in the web mailboxes making it easier to search and reference in case such need arises in the future. For these reasons, email is a preferred method to communicate when instant messages are required.

Conversely, there are certain places where official written letters are mandatory and emails will not be able to replace them. Put simply, some official communication especially governmental confirmations require written letters with organizational stamps to prove the genuineness. These are, for example, letters of experience, letter of promotion, and letter for confirmation of residency to name but a few. Simply emails will never be able to replace the where official letters are required.

In conclusion, there is no denying the fact that emails are more widely used due to being a faster means of communication; however, official or government work still requires written letters for confirmation. Thus, in my opinion, written letters are difficult to omit for the above-mentioned reasons.