In recent times, when technological advancements have provided us with a lot of spare time. Shopping has emerged as the predominant way to spend free time among youngsters in many countries around the world. In my opinion, this is a negative development owing to the detrimental effects on their career and economic conditions.

To begin with, spending most of the valuable time shopping distract youngsters from their career development. This is simply because they enjoy buying new products for gaining praise among friends. When they tend to focus more on purchasing new items, for instance, most of their daytime is spent in search of the perfect article either online or offline. As a result of these distractions, the attention and priority to career goals decrease. As a young adult, more time should be spent on personal career growth and learning.

Furthermore, purchasing excessively can deteriorate the economic condition of young adults. In order to appear rich and fashionable, they begin to spend a large chunk of their income on shopping for new trendy products which usually leaves them with little or no money to spend on essential utilities. For instance, many youngsters use credit cards heavily on shopping without realizing their payback potential and eventually end up with large credit loans. This affects their economic condition and sometimes mental health as well.

In conclusion, I believe spending time and money shopping as a leisure activity affects young adults in their career path as well as economically. The focus should be given to more productive hobbies and investing in their career.