Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world Why is this What are the advantageous and disadvantageous of solar energy

As the world is gearing up to tackle pollution and global warming, the search for renewable energy sources has surged. One such energy source is solar power which is being widely opted as a domestic source of energy across the globe. This essay will discuss the reason for this trend followed by the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy.

Solar power is a widely available and cheap source of energy. As the Sun's energy is available for free which can be converted into electricity using solar cells, people tend to switch to this power source in order to reduce their utility bills. Therefore, solar energy provides a discount to people on the rising cost of electricity which has increased the popularity of this energy generation method around the world.

Furthermore, there are several advantages of solar power as a household energy solution. The main benefit is that solar energy does not create pollution as a byproduct which makes it an optimum energy solution. Other methods for energy generation, for instance, coal and diesel generate harmful gases which contribute to pollution and further towards global warming. Another benefit is that the Sun's energy unlike other energy sources has an endless supply. In other words, the life of the Sun is in millions or billions of years which allows the use of its energy without worrying about its depletion by overuse.

On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages of solar power. Firstly, due to the day/night circle, the Sun is not available throughout which means at the night time it is difficult to make use of the solar power unless there is power storage built for later use. Secondly, the initial investment for setting up a solar plant is huge which sometimes is difficult for a common man who is earning nominally.

In conclusion, solar power due to it being non-polluting and widely available is becoming a popular choice for the household energy solution which provides people with a cheap alternative to electricity. However, there are certain disadvantages such as the requirement of initial huge investment and power storage which can be overcome if the government provides subsidies to people for using solar power.