Employers to give longer holidays to employees to encourage them to do their job well. Do you agree?

Job motivation is the driving force for both the employee and the employer in order to achieve targets on both the ends. Growing concerns led the employer to shed light on providing longer holidays than that of benchmark in return of quality work being produced by employees. Despite this, I strongly disagree with the notion because it distracts employee from work who is on leave. Moreover, it creates excessive work pressure on available resources. This essay will demonstrate the impacts of longer holidays on employees.

To begin with, longer holidays shift employee's concern from work to other aspects of life. An employee on leaves have ample time to look for other options which might end up with unconvinced attributes related to current job. According to empirical research conducted in 2018 by the well known firm, Human Resource Solutions, revealed that employees who took longer leaves tend to be more unsatisfied and less focused to the targets. Admittedly, once they resumed to work it almost required two months to them to get back to routine as compared to employees who availed shorter leaves. Thus, seen in this light it is broadly believed that providing longer leaves to encourage employees is not a constructive approach.

Another insight that must not be neglected is that the work pressure of employee on longer leaves will eventually fall on the other workers. Consequently, the remaining workforce will have to deal with work stress which ultimately led them to exhaustion stage where blunders and employee turnover will increase. In a survey conducted at renowned multinational institution, Standard Chartered Bank, 80% of employees stated that they got depressed which leads to more errors with work when one of their colleague was on longer leaves. Consistent with this line of thinking, it is observed that longer leaves idea can be debunked as it is frustrated for working employees to bear the workload.

To conclude, employee encouragement is the tool for management to attain quality work from the employees but longer leaves will not suffice the purpose instead it distracts employee and build extra work pressure on available workforce. In my opinion, employers must have to look for other avenues such as cash bonuses and achievement awards to motivate employee rather than long leaves.