In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Over 2 decades, technology has begot seismic shift around the globe. Growing technology influence can be seen while exchanging emails over internet and connecting with world through portals. Despite this, it is agreed that such developments have given birth to various cybercrimes like system hacking and internet scams. I strongly agree with the notion that in near foreseeable future detrimental effects of Information Technology will be greater than positive effects. This essay will demonstrate negative effects to prove this hypothesis.

Firstly, Information Technology is intuitively perceived as great achievement in human history. However, World Wide Web has enlightened numerous cyber crimes where personal identity of user is hacked and being misused to earn illegitimate income. Nowadays, Dubai Islamic Bank of Pakistan is in headlines where bank has to bear loss of 4 Billion Dollars because cyber criminals hacked the customers’ data from online portals; printed faked debit cards encrypted with stole information and then use these cards overseas. Seen in this light, it is agreed that negative consequences of Information Technology are greater than positive achievement.

Another most detrimental effect of Information Technology that must not be neglected is lack of controls which means authenticity of information is dubious. One recent example of internet scam is Dolphin game, where invitation for game was sent to people through email and people exchange pictures with mobile application. This game captured public attention when 180 people committed suicide while playing this death game over internet. Seen in this light, unrestricted rights provided by World Wide Web has become even fatal to lives of mankind.

To conclude, Information Technology has changed the quality of life for people. Traditional modes of communications have almost wiped out but these advancement are threat to privacy. In view of above stated consequences, I strongly agree that demerits of Information Technology outweigh the merits.