Employers should give longer holidays to employees to encourage them to do their job well. Do you agree?

Holidays are enjoyed by all. It been long debated whether companies should reward their workers with extended holidays. I completely agree with this ideology of rewarding workforce with longer payed holiday to reduce their stress and an increase their motivation for enhanced overall productivity.

Now-a-days, managers are quite demanding in terms of employee’s productivity which often leads to development of stress, thereby elevating levels of stress hormone, Cortisol. It has been observed that a stressed human being is not able to perform his duties efficiently which eventually incur more time in task completion. So companies must award their workforce with longer leaves to relax their nerves. An apt example will be of SAP’s CEO, who had a tight schedule, wherein he used to plunge in 18 hours towards work followed by 2 hours of fitness and only four hours of sleep. His stringent routine for extended duration raised cortisol level in his body, which ultimately resulted his untimely death.

Additionally, there are many jobs which are physically demanding such as military services, firefighting, miners, and lots more. They too need longer holiday to de-stress their body. Government provide them with 2 months of paid holidays in a calendar year to reduce work pressure and stress. Thus, vitalizing their body and motivating their mind.

Extended holidays not only assist in reduction of stress levels, but it also helps in motivating an individual to provide his undivided best. A motivated workforce is more productive and come up with agile ways of working. Needless to mention, they elevate overall enthusiasm among peers and make them passionate toward their work. As per a recent survey, people prefer to work with companies that provide flexible working hours and opportunity for longer holidays.

To summarize, employers must not pressurize their employer as it results in reduced productivity. However, they must reward them with longer paid holidays, thereby improving their overall productivity.