Employers should give their workers at least one month holiday a year as it makes them to do better at their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our modern workplace, it is expected that organisations allocate month long vacation to their employees on an yearly basis. I largely agree with this statement as the benefits of privileged leaves are multifaceted positively influencing both the employers and employees.

Some people argue that the provision of extended holidays is detrimental to the profitability of companies. Each worker availing holidays directly translates to loss of revenue for the organisation due to the reduction of productive hours. This issue is further intensified as projects and delivery deadlines are compromised when workers go on leaves. Consequently, in critical projects the team is impelled to devise contingency plans or work additional hours to deal with the burden of missing employees who are on vacation. For instance, in IT companies, when technical staff in time-sensitive projects take long leaves other employees are expected the share the work in order to meet the deadlines.

On the other hand, I believe that the advantages of providing holidays are legion and can benefit both parties. Firstly, staff today suffer from hectic work and constant stress that can cause havoc on their health along with loss of motivation. Holidays give workers time to relax and recuperate from stress dealt at high pressure work environments. Rejuvenating their minds and bodies abets them to focus better at work and improve their efficacy and productivity. Secondly, these perks provided by companies showcase to their employees that their hard work and dedication is recognised and appreciated. Lastly, leaves provided by organisation is an opportunity for employees to spend quality time with their family members along with maintaining a balance between work and life.

In conclusion, although long leaves might come with financial implications for organisation, we would be remiss not to consider the merits of holidays ranging from motivating the employees to assisting in striking a balance between work and home.