Many young people regularly change their jobs over the years. what are the reasons for this? do the advantages outweight the disadvantages

In our competitive world today, youngsters are constantly looking for new job opportunities to satisfy their quest for higher pay scale and better job profiles. Although, there might be some disadvantages associated with this, the merits of this constant shift are overwhelming.

Younger generation feels the need to change jobs to enrich their professional careers along with augmenting their income. Most employees feel that their growth, both professionally and financially, becomes stagnant when they work longer for one organization which impels them to look elsewhere. Furthermore, some employees perceive their regular tasks as banal making them lose interest and focus on their current jobs. Another reason that drives people to look out is the lure of working in innovative projects utilising cutting edge technology. For instance, IT professionals are perpetually seeking to work on emerging technologies and legacy projects make them transition to different roles.

Frequently switching jobs can imperil professional growth as many organisation emphasise on promoting internal employees for leadership positions. Also, during the recruitment process, companies look for prospective staff with significant experience in their stint in a company which directly translates to loyalty and dedication towards their employers. However, in spite of these, we would be remiss not to look at the advantages of pursuing newer roles. A candidate who has worked in multiple jobs is coerced to be more flexible and adaptable. Being exposed to different work environments and work dynamics, they inevitably learn to co-exist, think outside their comfort zone and be better team players. In comparison, a person working in the same company for many years tends to be rigid in his always and complacent which is detrimental to his career.

In conclusion, although there are some inherent drawbacks to switching jobs, the advantages including financially gain, increased exposure and honed competency motives young professionals to actively looking for better opportunities.