School teachers are more accountable for the social and intellectual development of students than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that academic teachers have greater responsibility in enabling comprehensive development including cognitive and behavioral skills of youngsters rather than parents and guardians. I completely agree with this view as children spend most of their time at school which also provides a conducive learning environment to coach and mold their character.

Some argue that parents can have a significant impact on children as they have a lenient relationship and better rapport with them. The informal environment at home empowers young kids to learn skills without any inhibitions. Also, they spend more time observing their parent in social situations than their teachers and inculcate these habit subconsciously. Additionally, while the teacher's main focus might be in imparting knowledge and covering all subjects included in the curriculum, parents are more interested in helping their offspring achieve holistic development ranging from social to cognitive skills.

However, I believe that owing to the innumerable hours students clock at school, teachers inherently impacted them to a great extent. They not only look up to their teachers for their day to day learning tasks but all view them as role models. Their behavior, attitude and interactions with other students is keenly observed by teachers and corrected which will define their personality as they grow. For example, while playing sports at school, the coach guides students not only to hone their physical skills essential for the sport but also teaches them aspects of being a good sportsman like camaraderie, being a team player and so on. These are traits that students carry forward to their adult life driving an individual's success.

In conclusion, although it is irrefutable that parents have a significant impact on overall development of their offspring, we would be remiss not to consider the positive influence made by school teachers on the holistic development of children.