Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether their are marries or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

In this contemporary world job market has become highly competitive. This has resulted in job providers screen the private details of job seekers, other than their academic qualification and professional experience. Eventhough, there are constructive arguments in this subject, it is vital for an organization to get to know the personal background of a job seeker.

Firstly, this will help the interviewers to select a correct candidate to fit into a tem. This will be very important for a smooth function of a department. For instance, a group will consists of members, with outgoing personalities, while if an individual is more reserved, he will not fit the team. This will ultimately negatively impact the department’s performance.

In addition, the employers should investigate the marital status of the interviewee. This is to make sure whether they will be suitable for the working conditions. For example, married people cannot be recruited for jobs such as external auditing, as it requires extensive travelling and long working hours, which workers with family will be afford to do it. Therefore, marital status and family background should be studied before the recruitment.

However, some personal information clarification may not be suitable for job recruitments. The information regarding race and religion will not be appropriate. These will affect the brand name of the organization. Asa result, the interviewers should only source for individual information, which are relevant to the vacancies.

When all the above are considered, detailed investigation of personal data of a candidate should be performed for the betterment of an organization. This will enhance the collaboration among the department members and will satisfy the individual staff as well. On the other hand, these information should be suitable for job in offer.