Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Companies in today’s world try to pick the best candidates out of the number of people who apply for a particular vacancy. In such case, interviewers tend to ask different types of questions including personal information. There can be good and bad impacts from that.

To begin with, people who interview the candidates will be from top management. Therefore, a candidate’s personal information might help them to design the job description effectively. For instance, if I am a married woman having 2 small kids, a job which includes frequent travelling and working late, will not be suitable for me and I will not be able to perform my duties at my best.

In addition, the organization can get to know what type of person the candidate could be and make use of his/her personal strengths for the improvement of the company. For example, if a person’s hobby or passion is to play volley ball, the corporate can make him/her to represent their own volley ball club which leads to boost the reputation.

In contrast, people may not like if an interviewer asks if they are married and having kids. A widow might take it too personally, as a consequence employer could lose talented personnel. Moreover, many people find those types of personal inquiries irrelevant and they will not be interested to proceed with the application.

To sum it up, in my personal point of view, I strongly believe that asking personal information when applying for a job will be useful for the employee as well as the employer. We should understand why these types of questions are being asked at the selection stage, and take it positively.