Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. What is your opinion?*

Recruitment these days sometimes involve employers requesting for personal details of the applicants which may include their hobbies, interests and marital status. Some people are in support of this practice while others believe that it is irrelevant. I think it is important to have an insight into what your potential employees personal life is like at the same time to have a limit to the questions being asked.

Firstly, employers see it as a necessity to get some personal information from applicants, this could be to enable them make a decision on whether the applicant would be suitable for a particular job position. Also, they may ask for these details to ascertain the personality of the individual in the sense of time management, temper and relationship with people. For instance, some employers put into consideration the marital status of their female employees before placing them in specific positions so as to avoid conflict with their family lives.

On the other hand, some people think it makes applicants feel uneasy to give out their personal details and that it is not good tool for recruitment considering the fact that they may give false information just to get the employees interest while their true personalities remain intact. They tend to give deceptive informations so as to get desired jobs. For instance, an ex-convict hunting for a job are more likely to give false information when probed about his or her criminal record.

To conclude, I think employers should always ask general questions especially related to the position of interest and ask less of personal questions which may otherwise sound probing.