Some people think that having asset retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to be tired and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from an early retirement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that single-retirement policy for all workers, irrespective of their job profile is unfair. People believe that workers in certain occupation are entitled to early retirement and pension. This essay agrees with the view that there should be leniency in the retirement plan for people employed in certain sectors. This essay will tell into the matter to give a brief description of some jobs that are more strenuous and the people performing the jobs deserve an early retirement.

People working in physically and mentally challenging job profiles may have deteriorate their health. Constantly working under such conditions for a longer period of time may have permanent adverse effects on their health. Consequently, they will become a burden on their family as well as on the economy. For instance, in a recent study it was found that people such as courier-man and builders, who do manual work are more likely to develop dementia if not allowed to be tired in their 50s.

In addition to that, there are certain occupations which require greater levels of physical fitness. Hence, such jobs are better suited for youngsters then seniors. Truck drivers and Aeroplane pilots are the prime examples, where serious accidents may happen due to poor vision at old age. Moreover, reducing the retirement age of these workers will not only benefit them but will also generate new vacancies.

In conclusion, it can be said that fixed retirement age for all occupations is not fair and the government should consider the job demands before setting a retirement policy.