Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

These days, organizations occasionally request job seekers for private details, namely pastimes, interests and marital status. While some people are of the opinion that such information may be linked and worthy, others think that such data is irrelevant and of no merit.

On the one hand, hiring companies have benefits for acquiring information about candidates. The primary advantage is that leisure activities and interests of prospective employee enables multinational corporates to find the best fit for the vacancy. For example, new graduates or school leavers, do not have work relevant details on curriculum vitae but information such as hobbies and interests, and hiring companies can use it as a way to find out as a person, team player, competitive and so on. Furthermore, the matrimonial status of the job applicant allows the company to find good-fit for the appropriate role. For instance, a job position that demands frequent travelling to various metropolitan cities all over the world might not be feasible for a married candidate, due to family commitments.

On the other hand, there are demerits in employers asking private information of the aspirants. Firstly, the hobbies and interests of experienced candidates are least important. However, the ability to perform a job matters most, in other words, skills and qualification. Moreover, some employers resort to discriminatory practices by selecting potential hires based on their marital status. For example, not employing an aspirant even though fully qualified for the open position due to he or she is married.

To conclude, in my opinion, there is no particular thought about the right or wrong in demanding private information of the job applicants by employers. However, organizations should focus on equal employment opportunity.