Some people think that criminals should stay in prisons, however, other think that they need medical and psychological assistance.

What is your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is considered by some people that offenders should be kept in jails, while there are people who believe they should be provided medical and psychological aid. In my opinion, while I believe the criminal should have the privilege to obtain mental and psychological help, prison sentence must be defined based on the crime.

The primary reason behind any crime is the mental and emotional condition of a criminal while offending. In other words, psychological state of an offender is the key to encourage committing any crime, for instance, hate, anger, mental illness, influenced by someone, financial need, and even for fun. Offering to deal with such situation or mental condition in a rehabilitation centre would certainly improve massive difference in them. They should be thought of learning different skills, and behaviour to keep them away from criminal mentality. Nearly, 35% of the criminal's behaviour in India has been changed after providing medial can psychological assistance in jails, according to an article published by a well-known newspaper.

According to some people, on the other hand, all criminals should be imprisoned irrespective of the type of crime. However, it should be considered based on the offence. Firstly, there are many first time offenders who are charged with minor offences, such as over speeding, burglary or pick-pocketing. With such small crimes they should be given a small prison sentence or keep under strict observation of the police, they need not stay long in the prisons. Secondly, criminals who have committed severely dangerous crimes, for example, a murder or terrorism, should be punished with a life-long sentence in jail. They are a threat to society and nation, and such strict laws will deter people from such detrimental offences.

In conclusion, a prison sentence is essentially vital for criminals based on the type of crime, and providing medical and psychological assistance is equally important. The government should build more strict laws to discourage people from offending serious crimes.