News stories on TV and in a newspaper are often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, news articles on television and in newspapers are usually accompanying by appropriate photographs published by media houses. It is considering by some people that news stories with images are more prominent than written text. In my opinion, I believe, pictures are better for the glance of any event or incident around the world, while words describe them in depth.

On the one hand, images are the powerful tool to illustrate the essence of a news article. In other words, the human brain can analyse the visual pictures faster and better, in comparison to texts hence, the end users can understand the highlights of the story instantly. Today's generation lives a fast life, and they do not have enough time to read entire news stories, but they can scan strike portraits. For instance, photos of the earthquake affected areas of Bhuj city of India on 26 January 2001 speaks about the situation of suffering people and infrastructure damages without even reading the story.

On the other hand, words are the primary building blocks to provide an in-depth insight of any news reports, according to some people. The text provides the readers with more comprehensive and specific information about the situation of a certain occasion. For example, the young generation browses tons of news headlines online and, they read the full written story to gain detailed information in case they found attractive.

In conclusion, in my opinion, pictures and words are equally essential part of the news stories. Figures enable the audience to understand the topic swiftly and easily while words provide the means of meaning.