The end of the world’s fossil fuel resources and the subsequent changes will be a positive development in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Advances in our society are anticipated by reaching the end of the earth’s finite resources like fossil fuel. Maybe it seems ambitiously at first sight as almost everything around us has a tie with fossil fuel and crude oil, but I strongly advocate this statement and will discuss it.

Undoubtedly, lesser reliance and consumption on fossil fuels and its derivatives will reduce the climate crisis and health issues in our society. Lowering every ton of greenhouse gas emissions prevents the global temperature from reaching the limits of global warming, polar melting, sea-level rising, droughts and extreme heatwaves. In addition to reducing planet-warming greenhouse gas emissions, restricting burning fossil fuels also reduces generating localized air pollutants such as soot and smog, decreasing the risk of death of stroke, heart disease, lung cancer and respiratory illness among those exposed.

Another positive development would be that the money spent on drilling and exploiting crude oil has to be put into industries developing renewable sources of energy and electric vehicles. Renewable energy is energy that is collected from renewable resources that are naturally replenished, such as rain, sunlight, wind, waves and geothermal heat. For instance, some nations like Norway, in 2021, known for its production of hydroelectricity, consumed hydro energy worth half of its total energy supply. In addition, transport accounts for around one-fifth of global emissions. At the same time, Electric vehicles are two to three times more efficient than conventional gasoline-powered vehicles and have no emissions at the tailpipe.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that the changes from reducing reliance on fossil fuels will be positive. Either on our health and environment or on energy sources and vehicles.