Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Health is wealth. Also, health is a fundamental right to every human being. I personally agree with this view of providing free health service to every citizen by their own country. This essay will analyze both the views using relevant examples to demonstrate and prove the arguments.

Healthcare department and its services are one of the most expensive sector for every country. Several major provisions needs to be done in the budget of the nation to provide free health service to the citizens. Healthy people are more productive and contribute to the development of the country. Therefore, investing in public healthcare is a wise decision for any country. In a recent interview, Director General of the World Health Organization stated that every nation should contribute at least 10% of their GDP into health services and provide free basic medical care to all the citizen of their country.

Of course, the government will not be able to provide advance or specialist health treatment to every citizen for free because such treatments are highly expensive and funding them would be a huge burden on the public exchequer. Hence, depending on the financial situation of the country only poor and elder people need to be given such expensive medical treatments for free. For example, India being a developing and densely populated country, cannot afford to provide free health service to each and every native. Therefore, they made all the public healthcare centers free for the natives to access their service and unaffordable treatments of life risking diseases like cancer at cheaper rates.

To conclude, Although medical services are very expensive, it is an essential part to save people's life. Hence, free avaibility of such services will be a boon for the healthy nation.