Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

Employers have various types of recruitment methods and processes to hire employees. Interviews are face to face interaction between employer and employee and one of the common way to recruit candidates however, it is not the best way.

Every recruitment method has its own advantages and disadvantages. To assess the 360 degree personality of a candidate recruiters should merge more than one hiring techniques. For example, In IT companies to judge technical and error solving ability recruiters should take mock practical test and panel interview of the candidate. Depending on just one hiring method can result in selecting inappropriate candidate.

The job interview method is only good for selecting candidates whose job is to business interactions with clients and customers. For instance, people in sales and marketing jobs, HR and PR jobs, consultant jobs need good customer service skill that can be best judged in interviews. Biggest downside of the interview is that the candidates are already prepared and answering prepared questions will make hard to check the applicant’s worthiness. In addition, it is hard to believe that candidates are not faking and showing their true intentions towards work ethics and dedication. Another drawback is simply on the basis of degree one cannot judge the ability to perform on workplace. In such situation putting candidate into the task they should typically do before offering job position to them.

To conclude, in my opinion interview is not the best method for choosing candidate’s worthiness. Employers should combine and assemble two different recruitment methods to choose suitable candidates as per the job profile.