Every year several languages die out. Some people believe that it is not important as life will be easier with fewer languages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

language is the medium to understand the meaning of intentions between one another. Diverging opinion are rising whether languages, extinct or near to extinction are significant to us. However, some people consider that lesser languages would mean easy understanding between each other. I believe that languages represent more than just a way of communication and therefore, have more value to it than just mere words.

lingual history shows us the origins of different tribes of people. Their language study provides us the insight of how these tribes survived in past times. For instance, No one knew what the ancient writing on the walls of Egypt’s pyramid meant, until, recent research work done by the lingual experts. Their language has given us the information which has never been mentioned in the history books.

another advantage of having large number of languages is that it makes people humble and kind towards each other. In this age of far right phenomena, where nationalism is propagated, we need more traditional and local languages to defuse the situation. The racism and unjust nationalistic approach towards immigrants should be curbed, by celebrating more languages. Lastly, learning more languages enhances one’s mental capacity and enables them to think ideas in different languages. A study conducted between multi-lingual group showed their capacity to interpret ideas in more creative manner compared to bi-lingual people.

In conclusion, I believe local languages are worth saving and should be more promoted and celebrated for the peace and harmony among the masses.