Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Diverging opinions have been voicing over, whether, advertisement agencies deviate people from the reality of life or in fact making our lives better than before.I believe advertisements are doing more damage than good to people and only few advertisements speak of a sane mind .In this essay, first I will explain the advertising culture prevalent in the society and lastly will discuss the few positive ad campaigns.

Nowadays our society is engrossed to the idea of physical beautification. Everywhere we look, we see the fair skinned and toned body ladies on billboards and television screens.Such companies tap into the insecurities of a person which is relevent to their gender.For instance,For asian girls,most commercials shows big eyed models or fair skinned models for south asian girls.These ad agencies not only prey upon the female population but males suffer from the similar complexes, if not more. toned muscle structure and perfect jaw line of male models have boxed men to inferior complex.These superficial standards have created mental illnesses in the mind of younger generation.A recent study was conducted between two support groups.One support group showed happiness and feeling of contentment compared to the one who was exposed to daily television advertisements.The latter group not only felt anxious, but developed mental complexities in later time.

However,There are few companies which instigate the positive attitude or awareness in the minds of people.but they only contribute to the miniscule amount to all the other product placements.Most of the time, the advertisements promote into the unnatural beauty standards of men and women.

In conclusion,I believe the current advertisement culture is in bad shape and therefore, requires a major overhaul in terms of creative and realistic ideas.