“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree.

Diverging opinions have been voicing over within medical fraternity on whether preventive research is more important than finding a cure for certain disease. I fully support that prevention should be given priority; however, we cannot rule out the importance of treatment in medicine.

Firstly, preventive research has served mankind to insurmountable value. Millions of people were saved in the past because of the discovery of such medicines. one prime example is the discovery of vaccination in 20th century-which saved innumerable lives from the diseases as trivial as common cold or flu. Secondly, modern science has enabled Doctors to early diagnose any illness, which in turn gives a patient an ample amount of time to change his ways and stop the spread of a disease.X-ray, CAT scans and MRI machines is to name a few of these marvelous inventions, which accurately diagnoses the defect within body.

however, preventative treatment has its natural constraints which one cannot ignore simply. new viruses and bacteria are mutating everyday, which attacks anti-bodies of a human being and therefore new diseases are spread around the world every day. such diseases are undetectable to machines and doctor’s medical knowledge and hence, require the new medical research to find an urgent cure for it. Most recent example of such disease is the outbreak of Ebola in Africa, which is highly contagious and deadly. Scientists and researchers have to work tirelessly to control the spread and save human lives.

In conclusion, I believe we cannot overlook the importance of preventive care since it saves people from the misery and pain however, treatment research is equally important to be invested in, if not more