“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree.

Advancements in the field of science and medicine and social awareness towards physical health are encouraging investments towards preventive healthcare. While it is increasingly possible to prevent diseases using proactive measures but there will always be a need of people requiring medical treatment in situations where prevention does not work or is not possible. This essay will discuss why disease treatment is also important along with increasing investment in preventive measures.

‘Prevention is better than cure’ is an age old adage. Healthcare has greatly advanced with years of investments and research in this field across the globe. As a result, medical world has started moving from reactive to proactive healthcare. For example: In last decade, India has been successful in eradicating polio completely from the country. Government conducts polio vaccination drives across the country for children due to which they can never get infected with polio for life. Preventive measures like this are immensely effective as they not only save a lot of healthcare cost but also keep population healthy.

Although, preventive healthcare is the best medication approach it cannot address all the medical problems. For example, there are health problems like cancer which cannot be prevented by medication or vaccination. They are the result of today’s fast moving lifestyle and hence in a way inevitable. For these reasons, investments and research in treatment based medication needs to continue at least for foreseeable future.

In conclusion, preventive measures are the most preferred approach towards healthcare and there is a growing need to make further investments to advance and research in this field. However, they cannot completely replace treatment based medication. Hence Healthcare world should strike the right balance and make investments and advancements in both the areas in right proportion.