Excessive traffic has made cities unpleasant places to live and work in. For this reason, private cars should be completely banned from city centres. To what extent do you agree or disagee?

As heavy traffic in the cities make its landscapes ugly, making it difficult to live and work in. So, private vehicles should be completely cordoned off from the central parts of the cities. I completely agree with this idea of banning certain vehicles for several reasons.

There are several reasons as to why personal transport is the part and parcel of the huge problem of traffic congestion in cities. Firstly, with more people tending to own multiple vehicles for the sake of their own comfort, peak traffic conditions are bound to happen. At the same time, cities are failing to accommodate the vehicular influx, due to lack of infrastructure. Secondly, reckless car owners park their vehicles in areas demarcated for other public uses or meet accidents, creating a nuisance and difficulties for general public. For these reasons, cities have a dirty outlook and its citizens bear the misery.

In my opinion, prohibiting only the personal cars in city centres would definitely be a good idea to control traffic. Firstly, prohibition of such automobiles, would not only force the people to opt for public transportation services, but also ease the traffic conditions of the whole city in general. secondly, office goers would be able to reach their destinations in timely manner, even in the peak hours of dawn and dusk, making their lives simpler. Further, people would not have to face, the damaging noxious pollutants from heavy vehicular activity, thus improving the air quality. Therefore, banning private motorcars from city centres will be a relief for everyone.

In conclusion, I believe that as traffic makes lives of the people miserable, banning personal cars in city’s main areas is a valid thing to do.