Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want ti be teachers? How this can be changed ?

Young generation is less interested in choosing teaching as a professional career nowadays and number of young people desiring to become teacher is decreasing constantly. The main reason of this trend is lower pay scale of the teachers. However, this trend can be reversed if the basic salary of teachers is set to a certain minimum amount.

Teachers pay scale has always been debatable issue and it is fair to say that they are paid much less than they actually deserve as they are the cornerstone in building the new generation. Also, one study in cognitive sciences shows that young people are likely to chose a career which pays the most. Survey carried out during the study shows that only 10% of the university students chose teaching as a career option and the reason most of the student gave was the lower pay scale of the teachers. For example, engineers are paid more than double amount than teachers. Hence, comparatively lower pay scale is the main reason why younger generation is less likely to chose teaching as a full time career.

If the base salary of the teachers is increased to the level of other lucrative professions then more and more young people will be motivated in becoming teachers. Young people will find teaching as most full fulling career as they will have sense of positive contribution to society if as a teacher they are paid sufficient amount. The government should address this issue and increase the base salary of the teachers.

Less number of young people are choosing to become teachers. Comparatively lower pay scale of the teachers is the main reason why young generation us less interested in teaching as full time career. increasing the basic salary of the teachers will attract young people in choosing teaching as a professional career.