Many people prefer spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is this positive or negative development ?

Nowadays people spent most of their earned money with zero or very less savings, especially young people. Most of them are spending extravagantly in order to keep up with technological advancement. There are several positive and negative consequences of this current mindset and this essay will shed light on both.

Technology is advancing at an exponential rate since the rise of an electronic era. Variety of new gadgets and products are introduced in market everyday. Therefore, in order to keep up with the advancement in technology, people spend their hard earned money in buying the current high tech products which will be obsolete within a period of less than one year. Also, these people justify this expenditure by arguing that life is uncertain so they are making the most of it by living in present and not pondering too much about the future. Also, people do not want to compromise their comfortable lifestyle. So they are spending all of their money to live the most lavish lifestyle they can afford.

There are always two sides of the coin. Therefore this mindset of spending all of the earned money also has positive and negative consequences. Economically, this expenditure will strengthen the global economy and as a result more people will have steady job. However, this very less to nil savings can have serious detrimental effects on individual in the future. If the person loses a job or goes through some serious accident in the future then he/she will face serious financial crisis with no saved money in his/her bank account.

Many people spend all of their earned money rather than saving the portion of it for the future. They want to live the life fullest and do not want compromise with the quality of life. This is a very positive development for the global economy. However, this mindset can have serious consequences for an individual in the future.