Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Learning and improving students handwriting is becoming less significant for some schools. In my opinion, developing ones writing is more beneficial for the child, however increased use of tablets and other technical devices often shifts the focus from this skill which could be detrimental.

Despite the negitive aspects in paragraph below, Writing can be categorised as a subject in itself, even though it is a miniscule part of classroom learning, it often causes stress for the pupil to have a neat handwriting. For example, children are generally under pressure of academic subjects and often they have to write fast and lengthy answers, as a result, for ceratin students neat handwriting becomes an unattainable feat.

On the other hand, children who practice cursive writing or writing in general, develop better understanding of languages and often have higher cognitive function. Firstly, it is an exciting art in itself, children are able to retain spellings and new words if they use pen and paper often. Secondly, when it comes to neat legibile writing, I believe it reflects a persons inner state of mind. Students with calm demeanour often write beautifully and with confidence in their letter forms. Furthermore, due to the growing dependence on technology, it is leading to dumbing-down of the growing mind of the children. For instance, many children use spellcheck and whilist writing for exams, they sometimes forget how to spell a particular word. Therefore, writing skills should be encouraged to help keep the young minds sharp.

To sum up, even some schools often believe improving writing is not essential, however, it ought be utilised as a skill that stimilates the young minds to learn and grasp the subjects that are taught.