Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the 21st century,we are able to consume the varieties of food such as burger, pizza, bread, and etc. All these dishes are originated in distinct part of the world and we are eating it on a regular basis. It is argued by a few individuals that if we eat our local food, will help to ameliorate the economy and benefit the environment. Regardless of this, some people are eating food traveling from other countries which are distant from here. In my opinion, we should not restrict consumers to only indigenous fruits and vegetables.

The countries which are near the equators doesn't have suffice soil conditions to grow most of the vegetables and fruits. Furthermore, they can harvest only a specific range of foods which can't be eaten as they are produced in gigantic amount and storing them in the cold storage demands a hefty sum of money. Therefore, it is better to transport them to another country where people can eat them. For example, the Middle East is the biggest exporter of dates because in extreme humid weather only certain fruits can be cultivated.

Despite of increase in the population, we are getting enough food to serve 7.5 billion people because of these food migrations. Moreover, recent surveys indicated the exponential growth in the consumption of fast food in the American food chains opened in India who employed a lot of scholars in this sector to feed the population, therefore, it aggrandized the GDP of this country. However, if we only eat the local made food it won't require to transport to other parts of the country and thousands of worker in the transportation sector will be unemployed which will impact our financial growth.

In conclusion, transporting the food from different countries supported to expand the range of items available to eat and help in increasing the financial growth and environmental balance. Still, there are a handful of people who are living in remote area and limited to their native food.