Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers.

Nowadays, supermarkets are stocked wide range of products from all around the world. Some individuals believe that imported food have detrimental effect on economy and culture but other think that local food items are better option for local economy. According to my perception local food products help in local economy and environment but it limits the choices.

Firstly , the transported food from distant places makes the wide variety of food products. People can enjoy wide range of food items. To illustrate, about 10 years ago, Kiwi is fruit of New Zeeland is not as much famous but now it is on every stage of fruit shop. Secondly, by import of food items people get employment, farmers expand globally this leads to increase in the economy of the country. Hence, good relationship creates between the countries which helps international co-operation and peace.

On the downside, the huge amount of fossil fuel burned to transport food to one place to another it leads to damage to environment. The massive reduction in oil consumption if prefer the local food products. The food products available in local market are highly nutritious because these are plucked from tree when they are ripened, these are fresh and free from preservatives. In contrast imported foods are plucked when they are raw and preserve them with the help of chemicals. It effects the nutrient value of the eatables. The regular consumption leads to health issues.

To summarize, if people give preference to local producer it will be beneficial for health, environment and local economy. Even so consume only local food is not viable option it lower the choices to eat the variety of stuff.