There has been much discussion about whether should foreigners pay more than local residents when they travel to cultural and historical places or not. The former, in many cases, should be more reasonable.

In many traveling areas, local residents must pay taxes to renovate infrastructure and tackle environment problems, which would be damaged by most of tourism actions. It is easy to witness that public constructions are quickly degraded and littering in wrong places at many tourism attractions. For example, in Da Nang, a city in middle area of Vietnam, various amount of litter was dump to the sea. As a result, government usually rents labourer to collect them. The fee for this case would come from taxes, what local citizens pay. They have spent money on improving those attractions. Therefore, local visitors should be reduced fee when they come to attractions in their hometown.

Admittedly, foreign tourists might pay many kinds of fee, such as: transportation, accommodation, eating out. Those visitors might think it is not fair that they pay more than local citizens for same place. However, these fees would be for new experiences, local cultural what they have never know before. By contrast, local residents are too familiar with their history and cultural. Even, in some situations, they even do not gain any new experiences. It is clear that foreigners receive more than local residents when traveling to the same place. Therefore, the addition fee for foreigners is really deserved and rational.

In conclusion, I would claim that foreign tourits should pay more than local inhabitants for cultural and historical attractions.