Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is irrefutable that fossil fuels are the main source of energy in many parts of the world,

but some nations are taking a step forward and using renewable sources like wind, solar and

tidal energy. Definitely, it is a positive development. In the following paragraphs I intend to

support my views with my arguments.

The main advantage of using alternate sources is that the conventional sources like coal and

oil are non-renewable. They take millions of years to make and we are finishing them at an

alarming rate. This means that if we finish the existing resources they will be gone forever as

far as our and the coming many generations are concerned. Energy from the wind, the sun

and the sea is an everlasting source of power. So, more and more governments should come

forward in promoting these sources.

Another big advantage of these non-conventional sources is that they do not pollute the

environment. We all know that global warming and damage to the protective ozone layer

are caused by carbon-dioxide and other by-products of fossil fuels. If urgent steps are not

taken towards the use of natural sources like sun and wind, then the time is not far when

the whole earth will transform into a boiling pot.

Although the use of these alternative sources has some hurdles such as the initial cost of

setting up solar panels and wind farms is very high and these are also dependent on the

geographical locations. However, once the initial cost has been met with, their maintenance

is practically negligible.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that the use of these alternative sources is a very

positive development. It should be the global priority to invest in such research and

development.