Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Nowadays, it is important to consider the significance of water since there has been a rise in its demand over recent years. This demand has become worldwide problem. This essay will explore some of the problems associated with this rise in demand and propose some possible solutions.

One of the significant reasons of rise in water demand over the past few years is that people are careless in utilizing it. They do not consider it as a limited resource. This ignorance can be seen in simple daily practices. For instance, many people keep the tap running while washing the dishes. It is things like these that add up in the increasing the water supply demand in a country. To counter this, governments need to educate the individuals about water being a limited resource, so these things can be avoided. As a result, people will use it wisely and this, in turn, will decrease the overall demand for water.

Another reason for the increasing water supply demand is pollution. Due to urbanization, nowadays, we have a large number of factories in the country. Some of these factories pollute the water. In USA, Texas, for example, a clothing factory polluted its nearby water pond by dumping their waste into it. Similar practices like these that pollute fresh water is likely to cause water shortage and thus increase in water supply demand. To solve this, government should impose strict laws to stop factories from dumping their waste in the nearby water resources. This will result in stopping the water pollution by considerable amount and thus lowering the increasing water demand we have today.

To conclude, it can be said that while there are causes such as people’s ignorance and pollution that spike the water demand, there are also some solutions like education and introduction of laws that needs to be followed to counter this issue. If we are to save our planet, we need to take water seriously as it is a limited resource.