Some people believe that the most effective way to tackle industrial pollution is to tax factories generating it. Others say there are alternatives to handle it. Discuss both sides and provide your opinion.

There is no doubt that, nowadays, pollution is becoming a global issue. Although some people believe that the most vital step to encounter the increasing industrial pollution from factories would be to implement taxes on them, others disagree and hold the opinion that methods other this are better suited to minimize this type of pollution. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of this argument and explain my support for the former view.

On the one hand, those who believe that tax should not be imposed on the factories may argue it can cause economic downfall. This is because doing so would force the companies to minimize their workforce, by letting go of their employees, in order to maximize their profit. This would result in more unemployment and thus effecting the economy in a negative way. Therefore, other pollution control methods such as the use of material things can be effective in decreasing the pollution. For instance, a clothing factory, which often causes a lot of air pollution, should be encouraged to use a filter over their chimney, regularly emitting dangerous smoke and dust particles in the atmosphere. This is likely to reduce the amount of air pollution caused by the factory.

On the other hand, however, taxing factories can be beneficial as it forces them to be more efficient. For example, consider a company that produces 1000 items per day with 5% of them being faulty. If a tax is imposed to this factory for the amount of waste products produced, it would naturally force them to be more efficient. Therefore, imposing taxes on factories may result in cutting the amount of pollution caused significantly.

Although, taxing can be good as it could improve the efficiency of a factory, I believe that not introducing taxes on factories is a better way to solve the pollution problem. This is because other options like the use of a filter are better as it usually does not impact the country’s economy.