Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Nowadays, it is important to consider the significance of water since there has been a rise in its demand over the recent years. This demand has become a worldwide problem. This essay will explore some of the problems associated with this trend and propose some possible solutions.

One of the significant reasons of increase in water demand is that people are careless in utilizing it. They do not view it as a limited resource. This ignorance can be seen in simple daily practices. For instance, many people keep the tap running while washing the dishes. It is small things like these that increments the water supply demand in a country. To counter this, governments need to educate the individuals about water being a limited resource so that these water wasting practices can be avoided. As a result, people will use water wisely and this would result in decreasing the overall demand for water.

Another reason for the increasing demand in water supply is pollution. Due to urbanization, nowadays, we have a numerous factories in a country. Some of these factories pollute the water specifically. In USA, Texas, for example, a clothing factory polluted its nearby water pond by dumping the industrial waste into it. Similar practices like these that pollute fresh water is likely to cause water supply shortage which, in turn, increases its supply appeal. To solve this, government should impose strict laws to prevent factories from dumping their waste in water resources. This will result in terminating the water pollution by a considerable amount and thus lowering the increasing water demand we have today.

To conclude, it can be said that while there are causes such as people’s ignorance and pollution that spike up the water usage, there are also some solutions like education and introduction of strict laws that needs to be followed to counter this problem. If we are to save our planet, we need to take water seriously as it is a limited resource.