Giving children and adolescents pocket money is common throughout the world.
Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice and give your own opinion.
After certain age parents usually gives pocket money to their children which is common across the world.
Although this might have disadvantages, but advantages outweigh the drawbacks. In my opinion, pocket money will help teenagers
to learn management skills and advantages of saving at early age.
Pocket money are usually provided for daily expenses. Teenagers need to manage lot of things like transportation cost, buying books,
buying clothes and even going for a movie with friends. With a fix pocket money which is on monthly basis, teens can easily manage and plan
their cost accordingly. Similarly, they can plan to save money for further expenses, for example, for a pinic or to watch a football match.
Likewise, teenagers can save money for their hobbies, like to buy a sport kit for cricket, with this parents will have less
burden on the expenses for them. Additionally, pocket money can help them to understand the importance of money in daily life, which could help
them to recognise the importance of studying.
Pocket money will be also helpful to teenagers that could encourage them to earn extra income with part time works. Since many teenagers would feel that given pocket money
is not enough they will search for extra income and likewise they could involve themselves in part time working jobs which will help them in their career growth.
Since every coin have two sides, pocket money could also lead to teenagers ending up buying addictive stuffs like drugs or cigarettes. A research from local Government inform that
30 percent of drugs are consumed by people between age of 15-18. Another drawback could be children bunking their lecture to attend a movie show or concerts.
In conclusion, providing pocket money to the teenagers will help them to manage their day to day schedule. However, parents should monitor their expenses where they have used
their pocket money in order to keep them away from addictive things. Children are the future of next generation they must be protected.