Government investment in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money Governments must invest this money in public services instead

The world witnessed a lot of diverse developments after world war II. Governments in many countries have expressed their interest in arts through a lot of investments, yet, a few people suppose that the government should allocate more resources to public services instead. Personally, I suppose the investment in arts is crucial and it should remain for many reasons.

Arts are vital in many ways. Firstly, arts are a means of reflecting the cultures and customs of a country. Therefore, the government needs to put effort into continuously transmitting these values to the community so they will not lose their own identity. For example, Vietnamese could probably forget their dressing custom - the Ao Dai if schools do not require their students to wear this dress and if there are not any "Ao Dai" galleries or museums to remind them about it. Secondly, arts are one of the things that travelers look for when they come to a country. By investing in arts, a country or a city would become more interesting and attractive to travelers. with an increase in the number of tourists, the economy would improve considerably. Finally, arts also serve the local people as well. People who are curious about their history, culture and customs could come to these galleries, museums, or theatres.

People who advocate that it is a waste of money to invest in arts, usually present the idea that public services are far more important and the current one does not meet society's demand. These people opine that their life could be in jeopardized if the number of the police station, hospital and fire station is not large enough to cover the whole nation and to reach their place within a few minutes. They also demand that the public service should be at its best convenient and be ready to serve them, instead of having them waiting in a line for a long period of time. However, they should be aware that it is not the police officers, doctors, or firefighters' responsibility to guarantee their safety. They need to protect themselves from any possible dangers. Moreover, the resources are limit and there are many perspectives of a country that the government needs to make an improvement. Therefore, it can not be done to invest solely in public services only.

To recapitulate, for the purposes of remaining the ritual and culture, attracting more tourists and serving the local people's interest, the government should take arts into consideration for investment seriously and equally with the public services as it is wrong to say that one is more important than the other.