Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

During the allocation of budget, it is the government who decides on financial investments. Some people think financing arts is a dead investment. Whereas, few people believe that money should be utilized in public services. In my opinion, public services have become an integral part of the society which requires more funds towards it. However, I do not agree spending on arts is a waste of money.

To begin with, public services are a backbone of the society. Major services provided like police protection, government courts, and registrar office need financing from the government to function. For instance, when there is any natural calamity police provides free services to the public. This is because of the funds granted to them in order to secure the society. Secondly, public services play a vital role in educating youth through organizing campaigns and road shows. Furthermore, they involve them in activities like medical campaigns for rural parts of the country. For example, youth clubs provide sponsorship for education along with creating awareness for literacy.

However, arts also has its own stance in the society. Art is essential for mental peace and entertainment. Firstly, art such as music has been used since ancestral times to heal depression. For example, there are different forms of musical instruments which creates a positive vibe and enhances one's way of thinking. Another reason for investing in arts is to increase tourism in the country. Cultural arts have always been main tourist attraction. For instance, investment in cultural centers have increased foreign investment in the country through tourism.

To sum up, public services are inclined towards more investment for smooth functioning of the society. Nevertheless, art also has its own way to be benefit the public. Therefore, higher investment should be made in public services compared to arts.