The government spend enormous amount of money on renovation of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money is better spent on building new houses and road development.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this argument?

Nowadays, a significant amount of money is spent on the maintenance of old structures in many cities. Some people believe that the same amount may be utilized for other infrastructure projects instead of the above. I disagree with this view. In this essay, I shall explain why the budget to be spent for preserving and maintaining old buildings and monuments of cities should not be curtailed.

The road side buildings in old cities are usually stone structures that represent the culture and heritage of that place. Many of them are in poor condition. Even so, in my opinion, they should be restored because these buildings are strongly attached to the history of the city. If they are demolished, a part of the history will also die out and it is a national loss. On the other hand, maintaining buildings of historical value in good condition is a great way to bring tourism to the city. The tourism generates new employment opportunities and revenue. A part of this revenue may be utilized for new infrastructure projects like better highway connectivity, new housing schemes etc. These infrastructure projects may also provide a hassle-free experience to the city tourists. For example, good metro train connectivity to the oldest part of heavily populated city will ensure better infrastructure and it will promote tourism as well.

Having said that, those buildings that are beyond repair should definitely be demolished and new structures should be built in their place. Allowing them to stay in their dilapidated state poses serious threat to life and property.

To conclude, old structures and monuments tell us about the history and time-journey of the city. Their maintenance and preservation shall enhance the reputation of the city and create employment opportunities and revenue. Even so, buildings that cannot be restored should be destroyed.