Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Governments levy heavy taxes on people and in turn exploit this money for the enhancement of the roadway and railways. Although, a few would argue that the roadways have to be given more importance, a majority would feel that it is the railways that should be given more priority. This essay elucidate the points supporting the fact that railways have to be developed and improved than the roadways.

A huge amount has to be spent by the government on railways because a plethora of people are using railways as their mode of transport. Especially, the people who rush to their office in the morning. Railways fins a major utilization by the people. This is because they reduce congestion on the road, and people can travel fast to their workplace. How did people regard railways in the past?

Although some people did not use railways in the previous decades. The introduction of air- conditioned super fast bullet trains have raised the amount of people exploiting it. For example, a survey conducted by the railways department in Combodia suggested that about 63 percent of people preferred railways to road means of transport. Hence it is evident that railways have to flourish well in order to serve the public.

People of some areas, have a belief that roadways are the most comfortable way of moving from one place to another. Both the public transports like the buses, call taxes and the private vehicles such as the cars and two wheelers come under this category. Unlike ancient period where bullet carts, were used excessively, the modern people are exceedingly using their own private vehicles like the four wheelers and motorbikes. People get addicted to luxury and at times use a huge car for just one person to travel. For example, there is ample evidence to indicate the declaration that more private cars are purchased in Europe and the usage of public transport, especially the trains has reduced. Therefore some people want the roads to be overhauled.

To conclude, government should take into account the air pollution caused by the roadways and should take certain measures to ameliorate the railways. Now, it is clear that it is incoherent to claim that roadways must be given meticulous attention.