The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in town and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to advancement in technology online shopping has become highly popular among the new generation all over the world. The author believes that the present day brick-and-mortar shops will cease to exist in future as a consequence of new online virtual stores. I agree with the above statement to a larger extent that soon it will take over the people’s mind-set for all sorts of needs.

First of all, the online shopping gives the customers a wide array of product options suiting to their taste and requirements. For instance, they can buy regular groceries and regular consumables by click of a button and receiving the product at their home in a given time frame. As a result, this will save a huge amount of time and resources spent by the person while going to hard-roof stores for their essential and non-essential needs. Moreover, if the products require return being defective or replacement due to damage, the request can be placed online and managed efficiently without much wastage of time.

Secondly, the e-shops will be able to provide a better price band for any shortlisted product from various brands or manufacturers under one roof, which seems difficult with physical stores. The customer has to visit the multiple shops and spend a lot of time to finalise the item he is looking for. In a recent survey conducted in a Metro City, it has been observed that people spend 2 hours a day and at least 2 litres of fuel to go to various shops and stores. This leads to an excessive wastage of time and resources which otherwise could be saved for other productive purposes. While the online shopping not only saves the time, but also the resources by clubbing the multiple deliveries in a go, thus reducing the overall cost of a transaction.

Therefore, the online shopping is going to be a better preposition for buyers and sellers in the near future for all type of goods including large appliances and equipment. The above representations are sufficient enough to justify the argument.