People across the world are more similar than they are different. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that individuals living across the world are very similar in their characteristics and behaviour. I agree with this notion to a large extent that, despite having cultural differences, people behave similarly in different situations.

Admittedly, people of different colour, race, and beliefs are united together by a common thread, humanity. For instance, amidst the corona pandemic all over, people fought together against the virus, demonstrating/proving their unity and brotherhood. Moreover, in this age of technology and information, people are free to wear and buy any clothes through online portals and thus obviate diversity. Apart from this, English has become a lingua franca due to its widespread usage in jobs; therefore, speaking a common language makes people more similar than different. Even people’s eating habits are becoming similar. Due to globalization, the same kind of foods, clothes, and other products are available everywhere.

Conversely, there are a few differences among the folks that will stay as long as they are attached to their cultural roots. To illustrate, in the Hindu religion, cow killing is prohibited, whereas, in western countries, beef is a popular dish. In addition to it, while Indians greet people by joining hands, natives of several other countries shake hands or kiss when they meet people. Therefore, these dissimilarities in eating habits, greeting patterns or clothing create cultural diversity and uniqueness. In my opinion, these are superficial differences that do not create a divide.

To finally conclude, although there are cultural and religious differences among people across the nations, they are all similar to each other because of one trait, humanity.