Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change.

Discuss both and give your opinion.

There is an issue about the detrimental effect people cause on the ecosystem. Some ecologists believe that this influence is permanent, while others disagree and argue that people still can improve the situation. This essay agrees with the idea of improvement.

Let us start with reasons why some ecologists say that it is too late to safe the other species. To begin with, the population of the world is growing. According to sociologists, in five years the number of people will reach eight billion people, which means extra two billion in such a short period. To satisfy their needs, governments will have to develop more natural habitant and displace other species. Another reason is that many areas are heavily contaminated. Humans have polluted many lands so strongly that they cannot sustain any forms of life for hundreds of years, such as dumps of household and nuclear waste. Furthermore, most of the flora and fauna is on the verge of extinction. Agriculture and poaching have made such many species endangered, that it is hardly possible to revive them to the former sizes.

However, other ecologists claim that all harmful effect of humans on the environment is reversible. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, the usage of alternative sources of energy should be dominant. To generate both electricity and heat, people ought to exploit sun energy and wind power rather than burn fossil fuels, thereby stopping the pollution of the natural areas with deadly gases. Secondly, the purification of ecosystem is necessary. Many areas of land and water need cleaning from garbage, toxic waste and oil spills, so that animals and plants can thrive there. Finally, governments should protect natural habitats. To fight poaching and illegal disposal, countries should impose laws and organize groups, which are intended to punish those, who damage the environment as well as its living creatures.

In conclusion, although some ecologists are pessimistic about changing human attitude towards animals and plants, I think that people should take actions and save them for future generations.