The impact that the growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people travelling by air is to increase tax on flights.

To what extent do you think this could solve the problem?

Increased pollution has become an important concern for the majority of nations and unlike other transportation overuse of aircraft for travelling has elevated the problem. Section of society believes that in order to control the use of air means, authorities should raise existing excise on aircraft. However, in my opinion, this could not solve the issue as there are other things which need consideration.

To begin with, let’s understand the type of people using aircraft as means of transportation. Majority of the air passengers are those who have enough money at their dispersal, thus, increasing taxes on the flight ticket would not affect them as they will still be able to afford it. On the other hand, it will affect normal people, who use it once in a while for an emergency situation. However, restricting the number of air journey one can have in particular month or year would be better to limit frequent travellers.

It’s true that more flights mean more emission of carbon-dioxide in the air, however, they cannot be held completely responsible for the rise of greenhouse gases. For instance, today society, in general, has become mobile that means people are prepared to commute in their own vehicles rather than utilising public transport. This has contributed majorly to the hick of pollution level. Therefore, motivating and encouraging folks to opt for public means of transport could serve to save the environment.

In conclusion, it can state that raising taxes would not help to eradicate the issue, however, motivating and encouraging people to limit the use of fuel-based transportation could provide a certain relief to the concern