Increase the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Have the traffic and pollution problems become most ones that needed to be solved? In fact, several suggestions are being exposed for overcoming these problems. One of these suggestions is to increase the cost of fuels. It is believed that this may reduce the usage of vehicles but it may also have disadvantages.

In my opinion, the hike of fuel prices will result in an undesirable increase of all other consumable items such as food, medicine and domestic power bills, which will have a negative effect in people’s daily life. This may cause a defect in the layers of society and country economics. It can be said that, the disadvantages of prices increase will overburden the benefits of it.

For example, to an article which was published in Al-Ahram Weekly In, 2014 tells that, the effect of fuel cost will reach only 5% of the people who are using their cars in daily bases, because they do not have other method of transportation to reach their work. For this reason government should provide means of public transports which are cheap, reliable and environment friendly in order to reduce the percentage of fossil fuel vehicles in the streets, which will benefit in saving the environment and reduce the traffic. Thus, People will choose to rely on the available transportation to save their time, money and health.

At the End, Modern technology has provided us with new inventions like electric vehicles which can be a perfect solution for these problems mentioned above, if it will be implemented in a suitable way to fit people’s needs.