With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses.To what extent do you agree?

Obesity is becoming a pressing problem in many areas of the world. According to some, sport ought to be teach as a compulsory subject in all streams of tertiary education. In my opinion, the trend will have many positive outcomes since it will make youngsters aware about sport’s benefits and save national wealth from health awareness programs.

The lack of health education among individuals is a prominent reason of overweight population. Due to this, they are inclining towards the high calorie foods and neglecting physical exercise. Having a mandatory subject ‘Sport’ in university curriculum, the youngsters will get to know about how physical activities make us fit and keep our body away from several diseases such as hypertension, stress. Also, this will develop a sense of healthy life among readers and encourage them to devote some time to sports from their daily routine.

Every years the governments spend a spending of billions dollars in imparting health education among people. Teaching sports as a part of education will help youngsters in learning healthy lessons and importance of sports in human life. This will reduce the marketing of health campaign to a large extent and the government can use this segment of money in other domains like education, public transportation and saving environment that make a nation economically prosperous.

In conclusion, I believe that the compulsion of sport subject in university curriculum is impressive step to rise health awareness among people and saving national’s wealth from health education.